Undefined Beats Interview

Undefined Beats has worked with the sickest lyricists in the game. We catch up with him.

So, how did you first start producing?

Back in school I started hanging out with this kid that had a little studio set up in his garage. A few samplers, drum machines and what not. I would bring over samples I found off records and we would work on beats together, gradually I started to get more and more into it and buying my own gear. Once I got my ASR -10 I never looked back.

 
Who were your inspirations back in the day when you first started?

I was really feeling Marley Marl, Pete Rock, DJ Premier, Sam Sever, DJ Mighty Mi, The Beatnuts, Large Professor. All the producers that contributed to making those classic Golden Era HipHop albums.
 
Which producers do you like and admire now?

Definitely Alchemist his work ethic and consistency is inspiring. Scram Jones, DJ Muggs, Rza, Evidence, Jake One, Nottz, The Snowgoons. There is alot of dope music being made.

If you could choose any rapper to vocal your beats, who would it be and why?

Kool G Rap, He is definitely my favorite Emcee of all time and still one of the illest in the game today. His resume of music from day one to now is really incredible. You have to respect is ability to stay current with all these new cats coming out. I feel like I need to produce a G Rap joint just because I’m that much of a fan of HipHop. The game needs that raw ,grimy music and I’m working on making that happen.

Who have you worked with, and where can we hear the tracks?

I’ve been fortunate enough to have my beats blessed with verses by  Army of the Pharaohs,,Reef The Lost Cauze, Big Lou, Outerspace,Sabac Red [Non Phixion], Termanlogy, Randam Luck, King Syze,Shaabam Sahdeeq, Doap Nixon, Block McCloud, Nyce Da Future. I have alot of new projects with alot of dope rappers in 2010 that I’m really excited about.

What do you use to produce?

Instruments or software? Mainly I use my ASR-10 sampler, Sometimes I add to the tracks with Reason, I play bass and guitar so I might lay down some live riffs once in a while. I’m a crate digger at heart so I prefer the Asr-10, Technics 1200 and crates of records. That’s the sound I grew up on.


Will you ever do, or have you already done, a whole album of work, like Timbaland or Jake One have done?
I definitely will do a whole album in the future. Right now I building relationships with the artists I’m producing for. This way when i do my solo record I can count on them to bring that heat. I’m always sampling and collecting ideas for my album. It’s always in the back of my mind, I just don’t want to put out a so so record that gets lost in the mix. It’s gotta be the best possible music I can create or what’s the point. Right now you can download The Manual Labor Sessions, it’s a compilation of my favorite joints I produced. You can cop it for free @ http://www.execute1200.com/manuallabor
Where do you want to be in five years?

I would like to have my home studio set up so I can continue to produce and drop records. All I really ever wanted out of the game was to stay excited about making music. Finding that up and coming ill lyricist and being inspired to match his talent with a bangin beat. Music never gets old to me.
Where can we get in touch with you online?

You can check all my info, news and music at www.myspace.com/undefinedbeats I stay updating it all the time.

Do you have any shout outs or last words?

First and foremost I appreciate you taking the time to do the interview. Shouts to my crew The Bash Brothers DJ Concept and DJ Mickey Knox, Jay Piffakneeknee, PR Dean /HTA, Brown Bag Allstars, Rita for the non stop inspirational words. Nothing but classics for 2010

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Undefined Beats Interview”

  1. J57 Says:

    DOPE!

  2. JAY PIFFAKNEE-KNEE C.E.O. Says:

    YOUS A ILL DUDE……KEEP KILLIN DEM DOGG AND THANK YOU FOR SHOUTING ME OUT ONE JAY PIFFA KNEE-KNEE

Leave a comment